Birthday “Weekend” Reflection

Hooray for being legal! 🙂

January 30th was my 18thBirthday! 

As exciting as it was, it was a tad bit bittersweet. I was happy to be celebrating another birthday with my family and loved ones, but sad in a sense that I am no longer a child anymore…

Just kidding, I’m always going to be a kid.
Actually, I don’t even feel 18. Maybe it’ll start to kick in a month prior to turning 19. 😉
I’m very thankful to have been able to spend yet another birthday with the amazing people around me ❤
Everything about it was perfect!

To kick off my birthday….

IMG_1977

     I had one of my absolute favorite breakfasts! Chocolate raspberry yogurt with shredded wheat, banana, and peanut butter. Yummm! Chocolate and raspberry makes such a great combination, but as I always say, chocolate tastes good with everything! 🙂

Around 12:00pm, I was sitting around the house in my pajamas lounging around. I was taking the day nice and slow, doing nothing (I swear, I’m sooo good at doing nothing!) And then I got a little phone call from my boyfriend… I looked outside, and he was outside in the snow waiting to give me these…

IMG_1978

I almost cried it was so cute! The flowers were perfect, and the necklace is beyond beautiful. I was so overjoyed at the surprise that I almost burst into tears :’) My house currently smells like a beautiful spring wonderland!!

IMG_1980 IMG_1979
Isn’t he the sweetest?!

        Around 5:30pm, my family, boyfriend and I headed out to my favorite restaurant for dinner- Tulas Kitchen! It’s a delicious restaurant with  healthy meals and indulgences…They don’t even own a frier! 🙂 Their menu is very diverse, and I’ve never had something BAD there. Everything is always more than delicious! We started off with some (a lot) of appetizers:

IMG_1991Our first appetizer was free! Delicious baked pita chips with a chick pea and dill dip 🙂 mmm!

IMG_1993
Whole wheat tortilla topped with organic cheddar cheese, fresh salsa, shredded greens and a spicy guac. dip

IMG_1992
Honey baked brie with whole wheat garlic bread and fresh grapes

The honey baked brie is always my favorite! I had a little bit of everything, and then our main meals came promptly…

IMG_1994
The best. Dish. EVER.
Coconut bastami rice, asparagus, tempeh, red peppers, and cilantro all topped with a spicy peanut butter sauce and chopped peanuts

CAN YOU SAY HEAVEN?! Oh my god.
It tasted like a delicious bowl of peanut buttery goodness.
It was so good that I almost finished the whole thing!

After hanging out and chatting for a bit with the family, my mom suddenly had the urge to buy a cake and blow out candles at home! I was all for it, although the idea was a little strange to me.

IMG_1996
Chocolate banana cream pie

For the first time in about 10 or 11 years, my mom insisted we sing “Happy Birthday” and blow out candles
I had a very strong feeling that the only reason we did was because for the first time ever I have a boyfriend over, haha!
Either way, I was extremely happy. 🙂
I felt a bit awkward blowing the candles out and whatnot, but hey, it was my birthday!

P.S. Chocolate Banana Cream Pie is one of my new favorite cakes!

After an exhausting, fun and food filled night, I finally got to crawl into bed along with my food baby! 🙂

Over the weekend

       My boyfriend picked me up around lunch time and took me to this ADORABLE farm house lunch in. It was so cute with a great view! Of course, the snow ruins the view (but snow totally ruins everything sooo..(not a winter fan))! Either way, the cute country feel to the place created the perfect atmosphere.

IMG_2020

& I got this as my delicious brunch!

photo
Grilled veggies & mushroom with pesto and creamy goat cheese on a rosemary bun

Overall, I had an amazing Birthday weekend, and am so thankful for the people around me and for those who love me! (That includes all of you guys!)
Thank you for taking the time to read through all of this, and possibly drool all over my food pics 😉

IMG_2006 IMG_2037

xoxo

One thought on “Birthday “Weekend” Reflection

Leave a Reply

