Strawberry Greek Yogurt Muffins

 

 

461236020_1367007381

Snowy days + weekends = Experimental baking

I rarely have time to cook now that I’ve joined the track team. We train 5-6 days a week, after school and on Saturdays.
That leaves me with no time for cooking, blogging, and other small things 😦
The time that I do have left is dedicated to tremendous amounts of homework and studying…
But, I love track.
The breaks from the internet that I’ve been “forced” to take are actually doing me good.
I’m getting more and more in touch with life 🙂
Next step, spend less time on my cell phone….

Ha. Hahaahaa.

Aaaaannnyyywaaayyyyyy…..

Strawberry Greek Yogurt Muffins

photo 1

Ingredients:

  •  1 cup + 1/4 of all purpose flour, or spelt flour
  • 1/2 tbsp of baking powder
  • 2 tbsp of stevia (add more according to taste. I tasted the batter as I went along until I got to desired sweetness)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup almond milk (Add more if needed while mixing- batter will be very thick)
  • 6oz strawberry greek yogurt (such as Chobani- can use plain)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Add diced strawberries if desired
  • Strawberry halves and cinnamon for topping

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
2. Combine wet ingredients in a large bowl, and dry ingredients in a medium bowl.
3. Combine dry into wet, and mix  together.
4. Fold in diced strawberries if desired
5. Spoon the thick batter into a greased muffin pan
6. Smooth tops over with a spoon, top with strawberry halves, and sprinkle cinnamon on top.
7. Bake for 20 minuets, and allow to cool for 5-10min before removing from pan

photo 2

The recipe isn’t perfected yet, but its well on its way. I’m going to experiment more with different flours, and coconut oil & sugar instead 🙂
But so far, these dense muffins make a great breakfast treat, especially if accompanied with some nut butter and warm almond milk.

Macros are located on my instagram page (@_Workforit)

Leave a Reply

