Zucchini Fries

Hello there everyone!
The countdown continues.. Only one (yes one) more day of school left! After that, just a few more final examinations left to go and I am allllll done! Woohoo!
So yesterday, it was a gorgeous day. The beautiful sun reminded my family of summer. And summer, reminds my family of BBQ’s!
My dads really big when it comes to BBQ’s. He loves to grill up burgers, veggies, chicken and just about anything.
Of course, whenever my dad would make burgers, my mom would make french fries.
French fries… The ability to turn a vegetable/starch into something not so good for our bodies, and sky high in sodium, woohoo! (sarcasm)

To my surprise, my dad bought 100% whole wheat hamburger buns, and veggie burgers instead for a change. I was extremely happy with his healthy swaps, and even more happy that my parents were trying to be more health conscious as well. As my dad started grilling the burgers and some veggies, I decided to make a healthy alternative to french fries (besides sweet potato fries hehe)
…… Zucchini Fries!!!

Now I don’t know about you guys, but I have seen tons of different zucchini fry recipes floating around the internet. It was always something I wanted to try, but just never got around to. Now that I finally did make them, I DEFF will again because they were so nutritious, easy and delicious. I didn’t really use measurements for this, so just follow along with the instructions :3

photo

What you’ll need:

-2 biiiig bowls
– 1 gallon sized ziploc/plastic baggie
– Baking pan & tin foil

Ingredients
(Makes a whole bunch depending on size and cut)
-2 medium zucchinis
-Spelt Flour
-Almond milk
-Panko  crumbs (Or whole wheat)
-1/4 tsp salt & garlic powder

Instructions:
1. Preheat your oven to 420 deg. F
2. Grab a baking pan, spread tin foil over, and lightly spray with either pam, or coconut oil spray to prevent sticking.
3. In one of your bowls, pour in your almond milk (Maybe about 1c to start, add more if needed)
4. In your second bowl, add your spelt flour and spices (About 1/4-1/2c spelt flour)
5. Pour about 1 cup of bread/panko crumbs into your bag. You may need to add more deepening on how many fries you are making!
6. Roll your fries in the flour & spice combination, then dip in almond milk, and place in bag.
7. Once you have a decent amount of fries in your bag, shake shake shake it up! This speeds up the coating process and makes it much easier!
8. Repeat until finished, added more flour/milk/breadcrumbs as necessary
9. Place on baking tray. Make sure they aren’t overlapping cause they will stick together (not that thats a baad thing.. its just a double fry haha)
10. Bake for 20mins, allow to cool before stuffing face 🙂

**This recipe is EXTREMELY versatile! Feel free to experiment with all different kinds of spices. I used garlic powder, but I know onion powder, or italian seasoning would be good too.
For “cheesy” fries- use nutritional yeast
For spicy fries- use cayenne pepper

** I used panko crumbs because I was in the mood for a “sweeter” fry
Theres all sorts of different combination and varieties! 🙂
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

