Protein Packed Tuna Melt

When I was younger, my dad used to make these awesome oozy-gooey tuna melts.
Although they are still nice  to have as a special treat every once in a while, my stomach can’t handle them as often as I’d like to have them.
All the cheese and mayo my father would load up in them would get my stomach sick. Mayo just tends to have that effect on me!

So I figured, why not just take away the mayo? I tried that, but it didn’t work. The tuna basically loses all of its creamy potential without the mayo! After some brainstorming and failed attempts, I came up with a way to make tuna creamier and more delicious. Not to mention, packed with even more protein!
And no, its not greek yogurt.
I actually tried it but it tasted like horrible sour cream fish. Uhm, no.

The magical answer was… Cottage cheese! Huzzah!

love cottage cheese. I really do. If I’m not eating peanut butter, I’m eating cottage cheese.
80% of the protein in my diet probably comes from cottage cheese.
~No shame~

So for a delicious, healthy tuna melt, you’ll need….

Ingredients

-1 wrap of choice
-1/4cup of shredded veggie cheese
-1/2 cup of cottage cheese
-4oz of canned tuna
-2 tablespoons of Bolthouse  honey mustard dressing (or any dressing of choice)
-1 tablespoon of Trader Joe’s spicy red pepper dip
-1/2-1cup of baby spinach leaves
-Spray olive/coconut oil

Instructions

-Preheat your grill (I use a George Foreman Grill)
-In a separate medium bowl, mix together your tuna, cottage cheese, dressing, and pepper dip.
-Once well mixed, sprinkle in the cheese and mix together unit evenly distributed
-Lay out wrap and spoon on the tuna mixture
-Add spinach to wrap
-Fold your wrap up, and spray each side with some oil
– Place on griller and grill for 2-3 minuets, or until wrap is sealed shut and slightly hardened
– Let cool for a bit, then enjoy the ooey-gooey deliciousness!!

photo

Deeelicious! It was still creamy and yummy, just without the extra tummy ache and unnecessary fat (aka mayo)

Mayo just really grosses me out.
Never really liked it all that much, it always kinda grossed me out…
I mean theres plenty of things I could say that Mayo looks like, but I rather not on a recipe post :3
Enjoy!!

xxxxxxxxxxxx
Now I’m not one to really calculate macros (trying very hard to stray away from the deathly world of calorie counting and perfect macros) but couldn’t help my curiosity here. Between the tuna and cottage cheese I was extremely curious about the protein count on here.
For me, it came out to a little over 50g of protein! 50!!! I was a little shocked!
Now of course everyones will vary depending on the type of wrap, and cheese you use.
Either way, you are still getting a delicious amount of protein from the tuna and cottage cheese alone.

Leave a Reply

