Creamy Sweet Potato PB Soup

My dad has been on a soup-making spree recently. And to be honest, I don’t really care. I can go for a nice bowl of soup any time of the year!

Also, I reaalllyyy don’t mind because he’s happened to take an interest in making healthy, vegan soups.
When he told me, I kind of had to do a double take
… And when he made this soup, I also kind of had to do a double take.
Or shall I say double serving?
Or double bowl.
I don’t know, you get my point though right?

Anyway, heres one soup recipe you definitely won’t regret making, and I guarantee you’ll want to make it again
Its the perfect cross between spicy, sweet and creamy goodness.
I feel like I would like it without the spice, but I haven’t tried it yet.

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons of oil
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 1 tablespoon of minced ginger, OR 1/4 teaspoon of the powdered kind.
  • 2 cups of cubed sweet potatoes
  • 2 cups of no sodium added veggie broth/stock.
  • 1 28ox can of diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup of creamy peanut butter
  • 1 cup of cannellini beans
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne peper
  • 1/2cup of unsweetened coconut milk

Instructions

  1.  Heat up the oil in a large soup bowl, and cook the onions until they are brown.
  2. Add your ginger, brother, tomato and sweet potatoes. Bring to a boil
  3. Simmer with the lid on until potatoes are soft (May take 20mins or longer)
  4. Laded out 3 scoops of liquid to mix with your peanut butter. Blend together well until creamy, and then add back into your pot.
  5. Add your coconut milk, cayenne pepper, salt and beans.
  6. Let it cook for a little longer on a low heat setting, stirring here and there.
  7. Serve and enjoy! (I highly recommend using flax crackers, or any healthy cracker for dipping! I also topped mine with a bit of cinnamon for some sweetness)

photo photo-1

~Enjoy~

 

 

Leave a Reply

